How to use an Apple TV in the classroom

After visiting my mentor and finding out that they use an Apple TV instead of an interactive whiteboard I have been trying to find some information on how they work. Like Raquel mentions in her blog, the idea of an Apple TV sounds exciting, however we need to know how to intergrate them into our prac class effectivley.  “Roll Them In: Why TV is Still Essential Classroom Technology” provides some general information and discusses how ‘Classroom Technology Enhances Learning’.

I continued my search and found this article, “Seeing the Big Picture with Apple TV” which explains how to hook your iPad up to your class TV and gives an example of how to use it in the classroom.

APPS 4 SCHOOLS provides a list of apps for schools and teachers that I will explore more thoroughly. However, all these sights use an iPad, however my mentor uses a laptop, and it is not a MacBook. I am not sure how it all works. I guess I will have to wait and see. My mentor is not supplying me with any information regarding my lessons until the second week of the school holidays, so I have no idea what I am supposed to be doing. I am just trying to learn about the Apple TV as much as possible this week.

If anyone could point me in the right direction for programs or apps that I could use in grade 1 I would much appreciate any feedback?

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

