Theories, Frameworks and Models

Understanding the theories, frameworks and models that will help me!

In a previous weeks learning pathway we revised some frameworks and more acronyms that can help us prepare for our professional experience. The related task was to create a HTML table discussing these frameworks, I am only now getting around to doing this and I though I’d share my response. I found a website that will create HTML tables and had a go, it is called HTML Table generator.

Theory Purpose Application to Assignment/Professional Experience
CLEM Model Help understand how to learn about a new ICT and how to use it to enhance student learning. If there are any new ICTs you need to use it might help your expectations.

Hence might be useful as a part of the planning process for Part B.

TPACK Framework A way of thinking about the different types of knowledge (technological, pedagogical and content) required to design effective ICT-rich learning experiences. Something that I will be building as I engage in professional experience and in the future as a teacher.
Backwards Design A way to design learning experiences to achieve specific learning outcomes. Starting with what the students need to be able to know and do, and go backwards to create lessons that work towards that. My mentor has provided me with the maths assessment and allowed me to design lessons that help the students understand the concepts required to complete the task.
SAMR Model Standing for Substitution, Augmentation, Modification and Redefinition this model offers a method of seeing how computer technology might impact teaching and learning. This is one model that I can use the determine and justify why I use the technology I choose. I should try and aim to use ICTs as AMR
TIP Model The Technology Integration Planning (TIP) Model assists teachers to assess that the use of technology in lessons is efficient and successful in meeting students needs through five phases. This is another model that I can use when planning the use of ICTs in the lesson.
The 5Es An instructional model based on a constructivist approach to learning. Each phase builds on the previous. Engage, Explore, Explain, Elaborate, Evaluate. Typically used for science lessons but can be used to arrange lessons for all learning areas.
WALT & WILF Standing for We Are Learning To and What I’m Looking For – these provide students with an outline and expectations of the learning to occur. The thought is that if students know what they are learning and what is expected they will put more effort into their work. I use these in every lesson especially the WALT part and the extension TIB This is Because. This provides a start to an introduction to the learning experience.
Connectivism The theory of connectivism is that knowledge exists outside of the classroom and the learner makes connections between information to build knowledge. This can be used when research is required, with all of the resources available information can be obtained easily and instantly. This is not something that will be used in my current context as the school is a small one and resources are limited.
Blooms Taxonomy Blooms Taxonomy is a classification system to express the level of thinking skills. It is used to promote higher order thinking skills of analysing, evaluating and creating. It is the goal for students to not only know and understand the information being taught but be able to apply it in other situations, make judgements and put the information in a new way.
Postman’s 5 Things Technology is always changing and Neil Postman came up with five things we need to know about this. These things provide a different schema to think about technological change. Another model that I have not consciously thought about throughout my lessons or lesson planning.
Toolbelt Theory/TEST Framework This framework can be used to solve a problem or task by identifying the Task, Environment, Skills and Tools available to help with the problem. I don’t know that I will be consciously using this framework but it can be applied as every lesson is a task that I need to solve. By knowing the environment, skills and tools available I will be able to plan a more successful lesson.
PKM A set of processed that help us make sense of our world and work more efficiently. Personal Knowledge Management is a framework to develop a network of people and sources of information that we can easily draw upon. If I am having trouble understanding or completing a task or lesson I have the ability to ask those around me and use the resources at hand to figure it out allowing me to spend more time on other things.
Leave a Reply

