Problems and fears of professional development

As part of a learning path activity, David asked us to reply to the message below with a post that shares:

  1. The top 2 challenges/problems/mistakes you have faced or made on prior Professional Experiences.
  2. The top 2 fears/challenges you have about your EDC3100 Professional Experience.

Here are my responses to these questions:

  1. The top 2 challenges/problems/mistakes you have faced or made on prior Professional Experiences.

– I have only completed prac at childcare centres, and the biggest                              problems for me were:

  • lack of guidance, I felt I was there just to babysit
  • the EC teacher was not interested in checking my lesson plans, or gave feedback or suggestions to my lessons.
  1. The top 2 fears/challenges you have about your EDC3100 Professional Experience
  • My biggest fear is because I have not been to schools to teach, I will be very inexperienced in all areas, such as behaviour management of older students.
  • Another fear I have is not knowing how to use their particular ICT tools.

After reading some of the other responses and blog posts such as Patrick Linnan, I realise I am not alone and believe that if the other EDC3100 students have been able to do survive professional experience, I can too!

10725012123_772ddc54d2_b

I believe that preparation, knowledge and confidence is the key. I look forward to being able to reflect about this after prac.

Here is an article that is worth a read “Are They Ready? Final Year Pre-service Teachers ‘ Learning about Managing Student Behaviour”.

Leave a Reply

